Meaning of the Miracles

9 Aug

God’s Word:John 7

God’s Message to me:

Nothing’s changed!  “It’s all about me!” always has been and always will be mankind’s motivation.  When Jesus was on the earth many followed Him not because He was “God come to earth in the flesh to demonstrate His love and care,” but because He could heal the sick, raise the dead, and provide food for the hungry.   They wanted what Jesus could provide them in their present lives.

Mankind was unable to see beyond the miracles to the meaning Jesus brought through the miracles.  No man could ever do what Jesus could do because He and I are One.  The miracles were to show Our great power and to open the eyes of mankind to the reality of their creator—Jehovah—the one, the only God.  Instead, mankind sought the miracles for their own selfish reasons and failed to accept Christ as the promised Messiah.

Why would a hurting world reject a Messiah that could deliver them, guide and bless, be with them all their lives and in death give them life eternal in the presence of God?  Because they fear they are losing some power over their lives to submit to Jesus’ teachings about life and living.  Their fear causes them to miss out on the greatest joy and blessing that is possible throughout all of time and eternity.  Yet, I still offer “Whosoever will may come into my presence through belief in Jesus and the result will be life eternal.”

God’s Question for me: Do the words and deeds of your life demonstrate to your world that to live for Christ is the greatest joy and blessing one could ever desire?

God’s Promise to me: Matthew 11:28  “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  (The Message Bible version)

My prayer to God:

What a thrilling life is mine as one who recognizes the Messiah and has entered a relationship with God the Father through that belief.

I am sorry I am not a stronger advocate for your loving grace and forgiveness.

Thank you for not giving up on me, unworthy as I am of your love.

Help me to be a faithful witness of Yours all the days of my life.


My Song to God:  I Believe in Miracles

Creation shows the power of God
There’s  glory all  around
And  those who see Him  stand in awe
For  miracles abound
Oh  I cannot doubt the  work of God
It’s  plain for all to  see
The  miracles that He has wrought
Should  lead to Calvary

Chorus:
Oh  I believe in miracles
I’ve seen a soul set free
Miraculous the change in one
Redeemed through Calvary
I’ve  seen the lily push its way
Up  through the stubborn sod
Oh  I believe in  miracles
‘Cause I believe in  love

The  love of God, oh power divine
‘Tis  wonderful to see
The  miracle of grace performed
Within the heart of me

Chorus

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

