The Compass of Life

26 Jul

God’s Word: John 4

God’s message to me:

Where is the compass of your life headed?  As you travel through life, be aware of those around you and the needs and interests they have.  Don’t become so focused on where you are going that you ignore those in your pathway.  Talk to them—simply talk to them.  Perhaps you are headed in the same direction.  Perhaps you can help one another.  Jesus talked to the woman in this story and she shared a drink of water with Him.  Then he turned the compass of her life as he shared with her the “water of life.”

Unless you take the time to talk to a person you have no opportunity to share the “water of life” you have received.  This “water” is not to be hoarded, but to be shared freely.  The more it’s shared the sweeter it becomes and the stronger the flow.  My Word is the “water of life” that sustains your spiritual life and gives health to your physical body as well.  It was given to be your compass to lead and guide you safely along life’s pathway.

My “water” cleanses, nourishes, sustains and empowers as you let the Words of life (Bible) pour over your life and into your body.  What really counts in My sight is who you really are, how you live your life and where the compass of your life is heading.  Are you progressing in the pursuit of truth?

God’s Question for me: Are you reaching out to help others turn their inner compass toward the “water of life.”

God’s Promise to me: “Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever.  The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.”

My prayer to God:

I praise you for giving your “Word” as a compass for my life—to direct, guide and encourage.

I am sorry that I so often “work out my own solutions” apart from the simple directions of your Word.

Thank you for never giving up on me but always waiting to help me turn my heart back to You.

Help me today to set my compass of life on you and reach out in love and kindness to all those who show up in my path.

My Song to God:  Fill my cup Lord

Like the woman at the well I was seeking
For things that could not satisfy;
But then I heard my Savior speaking:
“Draw from the well that never shall run dry”.

(Chorus)
Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

(Verse 2)
There are millions in this world who are craving
The pleasures earthly things afford;
But none can match the wondrous treasure
That I find in Jesus Christ my Lord.

(Chorus)
Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

(Verse 3)
So, my children, if the things this world gave you
Leave hungers that won’t pass away,
My blessed Lord will come and save you,
If you kneel to Him and humbly pray:

(Chorus)
Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

