Encouraging Words

14 Jul

God’s Word: Genesis 49

God’s message to me:

Your words build up and encourage or your words tear down and discourage.  The choice is yours.  There is never a time to discourage—challenge to new heights—yes, but never to discourage.

In this chapter Jacob uses his last words to hang the truth out on the line. It was his last chance to communicate with his sons and he clearly challenged them to step out and step up by stating what the core essence of each personality was like.  You cannot improve a person’s lot in life by ignoring their sin, but to beat them over the head with it does not encourage them to step away from their sin.

My call to parents is to call their children to step out and step up to the plate I have placed before them, by honest communication and encouragement.  That is what Jacob did.  Joseph, who the brothers had through to be the least, ended up with the ball in his court.  Jacob recognized that Joseph had indeed stepped up to the plate and praised him for that, which in turn made him step up even higher and would encourage his brothers to do the same.

God’s Question for me:

What are you doing that will encourage your descendants to step out and step up, even after you are gone from this life?

God’s Promise to me:

When you honestly choose to invest your life in that which has eternal consequence, then I will help and guide you so that the process will be a success

My prayer to God:

  1. It’s so wonderful the way you weave every tiny incident in our lives as a stepping stone to a new height of service for You.
  2.  I am sorry that I have missed many of the stepping stones You have placed in my life.
  3. Thank You for your Word that challenges, nourishes and encourages me to keep on track with You.
  4. Help me to express your love in all I say and do today.

My Song to God:  Make Me a Blessing

Out in the highways and byways of life,
many are weary and sad;
are weary and sad
Carry the sunshine where darkness is rife
making the sorrowing glad.

Refrain:
Make me a blessing,
Make me a blessing,
Out of my life
out of my life
May Jesus shine;
Make me a blessing, O savior, I pray,
I pray Thee, my Savior,
Make me a blessing to someone today.

Tell the sweet story of Christ and His love;
Tell of His pow’r to forgive;
His pow’r to forgive.
Others will trust Him if only you prove
true ev’ry moment you live.

Refrain:

Give as ’twas given to you in your need;
Love as the Master loved you;
Be to the helpless a helper indeed;
Unto your mission be true.

Refrain:

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

