The Blame Game

7 Jul

God’s Word: Genesis 44

God’s message to me:

Joseph was in the perfect position to bring down severe punishment to his brothers, who had drastically changed his life, because of their jealousy and harm to him.  He could have easily played the blame game.  Instead, he put the pressure on them to see what was truly in their hearts.  He gave them the benefit of the doubt and was hoping that he would find them repentant—and he did.  He was not anxious to “make them pay” for the grief and pain they had caused them.

Joseph is a very good example of how I wish all mankind to respond to the hurts of their lives.  Go with the flow and make the best of every situation—and always be eager to forgive and go on with life.  Playing the blame game hurts you most, but ultimately all of humanity.

I am able to take every action that others may have meant for harm, and turn it into a stepping stone to further productivity in my kingdom.  But so often, people don’t mean to harm you, they just have a different perspective on the situation.  That isn’t wrong.  The wrong comes when you judge them as having done wrong, in their desire to make things better.   Don’t waste time playing the blame game; instead evaluate where you now are and how you can better serve me in your new surroundings.  And always–overcome bitterness with forgiveness.

God’s Question for me:

Will you choose to forgive, whatever grievances you have against whomever?

God’s Promise to me:

I am always available to help you forgive, if you will simply obey and choose to forgive.

My prayer to God:

  • I stand in awe of the way you can take the worst of situations and bring amazing blessings.
  • I am sorry for the many times I have played the blame game instead of looking for the good in the situation and use it as a stepping stone.
  • Thank you for your amazing ability to bring good out of the worst of situations.
  • Pleases help us process the situations that confront us and wisely choose our reactions.

My Song to God:  A Heart That Forgives  (Click on title to hear the author of this song sing it beautifully)
I want a heart that forgives
a heart full of love
one with compassion
just like Yours above

One that over comes evil
with goodness and love
Like it never happened,
never holding a grudge

I want a heart that forgives
that lives and let live
One that keeps loving over
and over again

One that men can’t offend
because your word is within
One that loves without price
like You Lord Jesus Christ

I want a heart that loves
everybody,
even my enemies
I want to love like You, be
like You, just like You did

I WANT A HEART THAT FORGIVES

want a heart that forgives
when the ones that are the closest
that I’ve known the longest
hurt me the most

I still wanna love them
just like You loved me
even though I’m hurting

I wanna heart that forgives,
when the pain is so deep

it’s hard to speak about it
to anyone,
just like Your Son

I give up my right to hold it against them
with hatred inside

I want a heart that loves
everybody,
even my enemies
I want to love like You, be
like You, just like You did,
wanna walk like You, talk like You, just like You did

Wanna be like You, live like You, just like You did

Cuz a heart that forgives
is the heart that willlive
totally free from the pain of the past
and the heart that let’s go
is the heart that will know
so much freedom

Lord I wanna let it go
God I need to let it go
Lord it’s been holding me back

and I don’t want it,
I don’t want it, I don’t,
I don’t want it

I don’t know exactly what to do to get rid of it but,

here i am Lord Jesus

here Iam, oh, here I am Lord Jesus

Lord I need You, I need You
I know this is me that You’re talking to

this is me, this is me,
this is me, Lord this is me

Lord I let it go,
every person, everyerson
that ever hurt me

gotta let it go
every single hurt,
I gotta let it go,
every single pain,
gotta let it go,
I let it go,
I let it go,
Lord you can have it
Lord you can have it
Lord you can have it
Lord you can have it
YOu can have it now
You can have it now

CAUSE I DON’T WANT IT NO MORE

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

