So Send I You

1 Jul

God’s Word:  Genesis 41

God’s message to me:

Because Joseph was faithful to Me I was able to use him in a mighty way—to save the lives of countless people.  There are untold blessings just waiting to be poured out upon humanity—waiting for a faithful messenger to deliver them.  I do not need the smartest, the most educated, the cleverest–I simply need a heart devoted to Me and showing that devotion by unselfish service to others.  Joseph fulfilled that requirement in his time.

How desperately your world needs more Joseph’s today.  His devotion to Me created a vessel through which I could deliver my message.  He willingly worked on behalf of others.  The Pharaoh recognized in him a man of wisdom and a man with a plan.  Look around you at your world.  What really pulls at your heart-strings?  Have you considered that I have anything to do with those desires?  Wouldn’t that be the easiest way for Me to motivate people to a task?  I don’t make you do anything, but when a task is so significant, I create the desire within you to carry out a needed task. As I sent Joseph, so send I you.

I am not a taskmaster that wants to keep people in bondage.  I created you with certain talents and desires and I know how you can best use them.  But you must deliberately set self aside and choose to sacrifice self, on My behalf—for the good of others.  Joseph did it and saved thousands of people.  Each life that I am able to touch through you I can turn into thousands of people.  We’re talking about generations upon generations that can be turned to Me because of your impact upon one single life.

God’s Question for me:

Will you awaken the desires I have given you and choose to use them to serve others?

God’s Promise to me:

I will multiply your offerings of self and use you to bless countless generations.

My prayer to God:

I praise you for these windows of enlightenment that Your Word brings to my heart.

I am sorry that I too often use my desires and passions for self instead of for others.

Thank You for providing so many opportunities for us to serve You.

Help us to use cautious wisdom in how we INVEST our time and not waste it.

My Song to God: So Send I You      

So send I you to labor unrewarded
To serve unpaid, unloved, unsought, unknown
To bear rebuke, to suffer scorn and scoffing
So send I you to toil for Me alone

So send I you to bind the bruised and broken
Over wandering souls to work, to weep, to wake
To bear the burdens of a world a-weary
So send I you to suffer for My sake

So send I you to loneliness and longing
With heart a-hungering for the loved and known
Forsaking kin and kindred, friend and dear one
So send I you to know My love alone

So send I you to leave your life’s ambition
To die to dear desire, self-will resign
To labor long, and love where men revile you
So send I you to lose your life in Mine

So send I you to hearts made hard by hatred
To eyes made blind because they will not see
To spend, though it be blood to spend and spare not
So send I you to taste of Calvary

“As the Father hath sent me, so send I you”

2 Responses to “So Send I You”

  1. rcottrill July 22, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. Thanks for posting the lovely Canadian hymn by Margaret Clarkson, and thanks too for the insightful devotional. Some folks may have the notion that God “sends” pastors and missionaries–those who are full-time career workers. But of course the call to service is for all of us. God bless.

    Like

    • ellenlandreth July 22, 2011 at 8:06 am #

      This is a good reminder to me. I need to post the author of the songs I post. The song that tugs at my heart draws me to the heart of the author and together we kneel before our God.

      Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

