Follow Your Dreams

27 Jun

God’s Word: Genesis 37

God’s message to me:

My will, will always come to pass, despite the odds against it.  It was I that gave Joseph his dreams, which, in this case, were really a glimpse into the future.  (He dreamed that the sun, moon and stars bowed down to him.) Most people have a desire to contribute in some significant way and Joseph grasped those dreams looking for greatness for self.

Yes, the brothers did eventually bow down to Joseph but by that time Joseph had come to realize his place in my plan.  I placed him in a place of authority for the benefit of many others—not for self-glory.  He caught the vision and went with my plan, abandoning self-glory.

Look at your life!  What dreams have you had?  Were they selfishly motivated?  Would your dreams have enlarged my kingdom or your status?  Why have you not followed your dream?  Did you refuse to trust me to provide what you needed?  Did you make poor choices that caused the dream to escape possible fulfillment?  Ask yourself what will be missing if you never follow your dream?  What are the possible benefits to my kingdom if you do follow your dream, against all odds?  What do you have to lose?  Remember my promise that you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you.  But you have to want it bad enough to follow the dream through to completion.

As I gave Joseph a window of opportunity I give you a window of opportunity, but you must grasp it and follow it.  My Will, will be accomplished either through you, or without you.  The choice is yours.  I used Joseph mightily because he followed his dreams in spite of all obstacles.  He used the obstacles as stepping-stones.  So can you.  Follow your dreams.

God’s Question for me:

Will you envision opportunities for service and be my messenger to your world?

God’s Promise to me:

When you respond to my call with “here I am,” I can do great things through you.

My prayer to God:

I stand in awe of your mighty wisdom that works out things for the best.

I am sorry that I am so hesitant to just trust you and follow my dreams.

Thank you for giving me the spark of hope that I still may be significant to you.

Please direct my thoughts to how I can be useful to your kingdom in my time.

My Song to God: Where He leads me I will follow
I can hear my Savior calling,
In the tend’rest accents calling;
On my ear these words are falling,
“Take thy cross, and daily follow me.”

I will take my cross and follow,
My dear Savior I will follow,
Where He leads me I will follow,
I’ll go with Him, with Him all the way.

Though the way be dark and dreary,
Though my feet be worn and weary,
Yet my heart keeps bright and cheery
As I follow, follow all the way.

Savior, ever go before me,
Shining heaven’s sunlight o’er me,
And when weak, by grace restore me
As I follow, follow all the way.

Through the valley safely lead me,
Heav’nly manna daily feed me;
Every hour, dear Lord, I need Thee
As I follow, follow all the way.

In Thy heart’s affection hold me,
In Thy arms of love enfold me,
And with Thine own grace uphold me,
As I follow, follow all the way.

I would never leave Thee, never;
Faithful I would be forever;
Nothing from Thy love can sever
As I follow, follow all the way.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

