Our Internal Compass

10 May

God’s Word: Genesis 21

God’s message to me:

This earth is not your home.  You’re just passing through.  Your internal compass always points to heaven. As Abraham’s travels were accompanied by troubles and trials, you too expect that.  It is the very trials and troubles that make you strong and able to help fellow travelers.

Each time you have a struggle, know for certain that I will put someone in your path that needs your counsel and help to overcome their own struggle.  Look for those people and be ready and willing to help them.  At times you will do well and at times you will fail to open the eyes of your heart.

I take your fleshly frailty into consideration and make up for your inability.  I will make you strong where you are weak.  I will work through you to accomplish my will on earth.  You just keep on keeping doing the tasks I have placed in your path.  Your job is to keep the compass of your life focused on heaven and I will be with you.  Need I remind you that I had penned in my word “Draw near to me and I will draw near to you?”  A thought sent my way, turns my attention toward you.  As I was with Abraham I am also with you.

God’s Question for me:

Will you accept the troubles of your life as the means to develop strength to help others?

God’s Promise to me:

Call on me!  I will never leave or forsake you when you call.

My prayer to God:

I praise you for weaving my life’s situations into something beautiful for you.

I am sorry that I bemoan the difficulties instead of looking to you for guidance.

Thank you for never giving up on me but continually called me back to your side.

Lead me, even today, to those whom you want me to help along this journey of life.

My Song to God:

This world is not my home I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

I have a loving mother just over in Glory land
And I don’t expect to stop until I shake her hand
She’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Just over in Glory land we’ll live eternally the saints on every hand are shouting victory
Their songs of sweetest praise drift back from heaven’s shore
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

