The Path to Greatness

12 Apr

God’s Word: Genesis 11

God’s message to me:

Selfishness has many forms. Whenever a person seeks to promote self, they are on the road to ruin.  Why?  Because in promoting yourself you always step on and over others to get higher than them.  Your thinking becomes clouded and wrong suddenly seems right.  I recognized this at the time of the building of the tower of Babel and knew I must put a stop to it.

When you read something in the scripture that you don’t understand you can be sure that you are unable to see the whole picture.  You can only judge by words and actions while I can judge by the very thoughts of a person.  As a matter of fact, mankind is unable to even judge their own thoughts—so self-centered are they.  Their only thought is to promote self higher than others and everything that results in that becomes good to them.

My way to is set self aside and look out for the best interests of others. Very few have ever been able to accomplish that.  I showed you what it looks like in human flesh—through the life and death of Christ.  The tower of Babel was built to reach high in the sky, to promote self, while Christ came and lowered himself in order to promote others.  Get the point?  The path to greatness leads down the road of self-sacrifice and there are no traffic jams on that road–there is so little traffic.

God’s Question for me:

What path have you chosen to walk through life—for self or self-sacrifice?

My prayer to God:

I praise you for your Word which teaches us whatever it is we need to learn.

I am sorry that so often my head is in the sand and I don’t focus on you and your Word.

Thank you for always drawing me back to focus on you and how I can best live for you.

Please help me to set my worries aside and rejoice in you and share that joy with others.

God’s Promise to me:

I will always have your best interests in mind.

My Song to God:

Living for Jesus, a life that is true,
Striving to please Him in all that I do;
Yielding allegiance, glad hearted and free,
This is the pathway of blessing for me.

Refrain

O Jesus, Lord and Savior, I give myself to Thee,
For Thou, in Thy atonement, didst give Thyself for me.
I own no other Master, my heart shall be Thy throne.
My life I give, henceforth to live, O Christ, for Thee alone.

Living for Jesus Who died in my place,
Bearing on Calvary my sin and disgrace;
Such love constrains me to answer His call,
Follow His leading and give Him my all.

Refrain

Living for Jesus, wherever I am,
Doing each duty in His holy Name;
Willing to suffer affliction and loss,
Deeming each trial a part of my cross.

Refrain

Living for Jesus through earth’s little while,
My dearest treasure, the light of His smile;
Seeking the lost ones He died to redeem,
Bringing the weary to find rest in Him.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

