The Way to Happiness

4 Apr

God’s Word: Genesis 6

God’s message to me:

Wickedness brings me extreme sorrow.  Why?  Wickedness corrupts the conscience and breeds even more corruption.  It is a downward spiral that ends in deep sorrow, death and eternal separation from Me.  I created mankind for fellowship with Me and when wickedness takes over, that fellowship is destroyed.  Wickedness breeds all kinds of sin—murder, lying, jealousy, and envy.

People turn to wickedness thinking they are reaching for freedom but instead they become a prisoner of wickedness and end up destroying their relationships, their happiness, and their freedom.  This causes me extreme grief.  I know the happiness that can come to mankind when they turn from wickedness and seek to serve one another.  But they so often think the way to happiness is doing their own thing and ignoring my guidance.  This is like the foolish student who quits school to get a job digging ditches.

As Noah walked with me and was called to save the world of his day, I am still looking for those who will walk with me.  Most people are choosing to follow their own path—and ignore the path of peace I have provided for them.  The world desperately needs people who will flesh out my teachings.  There is no hope for mankind apart from this.  My words are the words of life—giving life abundant–on this earth and life eternal afterwards.  That is genuine happiness.

God’s Question for me:

Will you choose to walk with me and flesh out my word and will to the lost world right where you live and work?

God’s Promise to me:

Walk with me and I will empower you to bless the lives of those you are around.

My Song to God:

How Great Thou Art Lyrics ~ Carl Boberg, 1859 – 1940

Stanza 1:

O Lord my God,

When I in awesome wonder

Consider all

The works Thy Hand hath made,

I see the stars,

I hear the mighty thunder,

Thy pow’r throughout

The universe displayed;

Stanza 2:

When through the woods

And forest glades I wander

I hear the birds

Sing sweetly in the trees;

When I look down

From lofty mountain grandeur

And hear the brook

And feel the gentle breeze;

Refrain:

Then sings my soul,

My Saviour God, to Thee,

How great Thou art!

How great Thou art!

Then sings my soul,

My Saviour God, to Thee,

How great Thou art!

How great Thou art!

Stanza 3:

When Christ shall come,

With shouts of acclamation,

And take me home,

What joy shall fill my heart!

Then I shall bow

In humble adoration

And there proclaim,

“My God, how great Thou art!”

Refrain:

Then sings my soul,

My Saviour God, to Thee,

How great Thou art!

How great Thou art!

Then sings my soul,

My Saviour God, to Thee,

How great Thou art!

How great Thou art!

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

