Precious Memories

7 Feb

God’s Word: Psalms 137

God’s Attribute: God gave us the gift of “memory”

God’s Message to me:

I hear plenty of complaints about loss of memory, but seldom do I hear any appreciation for the gift of memory.  W ithout your memory you lose your identity.  It has taken mankind years and years of research to learn even the basic about how I designed the memory to function.  “The average brain has 100 billion cells called neurons that communicate through electrochemical signals. Memories are complex arrays of neurons “talking” to one another by sending and receiving electrochemical impulses, drawing information from all over the brain. The hippocampus is the brain’s switchboard, connecting the attributes of memory found in different sensory cortexes (auditory, visual, olfactory, etc.). The greater the number of senses associated with a particular memory, the more powerful it is.”

Your body was designed to work together as a united whole.  I designed your senses to give life meaning, enjoyment, and allow you to be an active participator in living.  Senses feed information into the memory that creates lifelong memories.  My advice to you is take steps to create good memories or your memory bank becomes a reservoir of rotting garbage.

What are your memories telling you about the choices you have made with your life?  You can spend the rest of your life in regret over bad choices or use those memories to step up to a higher plane of living.  In the same way that you make choices about your life today you have choices about what you allow your memory to dwell on.  Choose to use the bad memories to make changes for the better.  Use the good memories to comfort and give joy to the present.

God’s Question for me:

How long since you thanked me for the gift of memory and the senses that work in unison with the amazing memory?

God’s Promise to me:

When you turn to me, your sins I choose to remember no more.  (You too have the choice of what to recall or forgive.)

My Song to God:

Precious memories, unseen angels
Sent from somewhere to my soul
How they linger ever near me
And the sacred past unfold

Chorus
Precious memories, how they linger
How they ever flood my soul
In the stillness of the midnight
Precious sacred scenes unfold

Precious father, loving mother
Fly across the lonely years
And old home scenes of my childhood
In fond memory appear

In the stillness of the midnight
Echoes from the past I hear
Old time singing, gladness bringing
From that lovely land somewhere

As I travel on life’s pathway
Know not what the years may hold
As I ponder, hope grows fonder
Precious memories flood my soul

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

