Fresh Hope

28 Jan

God’s Word: Psalms 131

God’s Attribute: God gives hope!

God’s Message to me:

As I said in I Samuel I say to you:  “I rekindle burned-out lives with fresh hope, restoring dignity and respect to your lives— a place in the sun!” When you place your hope in me you can expect with confidence that I will see you through.  Hope in the future I have for you gives peace and rest in the present.

Examine what it is that you are hoping for.  Are you trying to be “king of the mountain?”  Are you wanting to “rule the roost?”  Are you fantasizing grandiose plans? Are you meddling where you have no business?  Keep your feet on the ground!  Cultivate a quiet heart!  Be content in whatever circumstances face you at this very moment.

And through it all—hope for what tomorrow may hold.  As the Psalmist said, under my direction; “And as far as sunrise is from sunset, God has separated us from our sins. As parents feel for their children, God feels for those who fear him. He knows us inside and out, keeps in mind that we’re made of mud. Men and women don’t live very long; like wildflowers they spring up and blossom, but a storm snuffs them out just as quickly, leaving nothing to show they were here. God’s love, though, is ever and always, eternally present to all who fear him, making everything right for them and their children as they follow his Covenant ways and remember to do whatever he said.”

God’s Question for me:

Do you trust me enough to give me your hopes and dreams and be at peace in the present?

God’s Promise to me:

My love is ever and always, eternally present to all those who fear me.

My Song to God:

I don’t know
About tomorrow
I just live from day-to-day
I don’t borrow from its sunshine
For its skies may turn to gray
I don’t worry about my future
For I know what Jesus said
And today He walks beside me
For He knows what lies ahead
Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But, I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

