God’s Stewards

28 Oct

God’s Word: Psalms 115

God’s Attribute: God. . .made heaven and earth. . . and he put us in charge of the earth.

God’s Message to me:

My call to you is to serve as my stewards of the earth and its resources.  The earth exists as a home for mankind.  The resources there are for your provision and comfort. I created fuel to keep you warm, food to nourish your bodies, water to hydrate you, greenery to provide you with oxygen to breathe, air to fill your lungs, and so many critters to do tasks on your behalf.  I made Termites to eat rotten wood and help clean things up, even dung beetles to rid the fields of dung.  There are bees to pollinate and make fruit and beautiful flowers to grow, seeds to be scattered and reforest the hillsides.  The list is nearly endless of all I created because I love you.

I did my part in creating all of this and now I am counting on you to care for it all.  How I am honored when some create huge and beautiful gardens for others to enjoy.  You will remember that I created mankind in a garden of ultimate beauty.  Even a very young child can help take care of the earth by raking leaves, picking up trash, taking care of animals and plants.  As my stewards you are to set the example and train your children in the same.

The selfishness of mankind has done great harm to the earth and to your very bodies.  Polluting rivers, streams and the oceans, emitting poison gasses into the atmosphere, and creating mounds of trash that spread disease and pollute the land and waters.  You now are living with the consequences of these choices.  Even the secular people recognize the need to clean up the planet—but not as my stewards—to make the place a better place for them to live.  My people should be leading these efforts as my stewards.

God’s Question for me:

How are you contributing to pollution of the earth and what are you doing to serve as my stewards?

God’s Promise to me:

Genesis 8:22 “As long as the earth endures, seed-time and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease.”

My Song to God:

How Great Thou Art

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

