Rubbing Shoulders

26 Oct

God’s Word: Psalms 113

God’s Attribute: God PICKS UP the poor from out of the dirt, RESCUES the wretches who’ve been thrown out with the trash—seats them among the honored guests.

God’s Message to me:

The appearance or standing of a person does not dictate their value in my sight.  What about you?  In my Word I cautioned against ignoring the poor and welcoming the wealthy.  I said that because there is such an inclination in humanity to do this.  You want to rub shoulders with those who can help you but ignore those who cannot help you but only make more work for you.  That is not how it works in my kingdom.

I explained this in Matthew 7:12   “Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them.” You will learn by reading further in Matthew that in doing for others, all others, you are in reality doing it for me.  I take your treatment of others personally.

I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.

Do I hear you asking, just like those I first said this to:  When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ (Then Jesus said), ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.’

This is such a simple concept but so often ignored by humanity.  I am no longer on earth, in the flesh.  Therefore, you are my ambassador to get out there and rub shoulders with those who could use a helping hand and an encouraging word.  Do it as unto Me.

God’s Question for me:

Will you take time each day to do an act of kindness to someone with no regards as to what you receive in return?  That is what kingdom living as my ambassador is like.

God’s Promise to me:

I will be with you and will bless you.

My Song to God:

For God So Loved the World

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

